The Leprechaun wears – Prada?

Greetings from Ireland.  Over the next series of blog entries, I expect to write about the fabric stores I have found, what I see people wearing and a few specialty shops I have been to.   One shop in particular in Dublin that I absolutely loved!  You would think you were in NYC.

I will also write a separate blog on some of the sights and places we’ve visited, particularly for those of you who enjoy travel.  I will tell you now, in just the short time we’ve been here, I’ve found that the Irish are a wonderful warm people and do not mind taking a moment to answer a question or just chat.

In preparation for our trip, and before leaving the States, I researched fabric shops in Dublin and found six.  I knew I would not have the chance to see all six in our whirlwind stay in Dublin before driving off to other parts, but I did my best to visit as many as I could.

Our first day here, still jet lagged, I found “The Woolen Mills” near the well known Ha’ Penny Bridge.  It contains all types of fabric and notions in small quantities, however, there was more polyester than I expected.  There were a few bolts of wools that I looked at that I liked but decided to wait since we will explore another woolen mill outside of Dublin.  One interesting “find” was a set of kits of preprinted doll clothes that a young sewista could make by hand or by machine.

On our third day in Dublin we found a store that reminded me of a shop in Melbourne called Clegs. This one is called Hickey’s.  There were three floors of fabric from Bridal to Home Dec to Apparel fabrics.   There were some good choices here and prices a bit lower than Australia.  It had nice window displays and samples on manniquins inside.  I purchased an animal print mixed with a periwinkle knit for a top I have in mind.  At the cutting table I looked at a basket of patterns by Grand Revival, a label I was not familiar with.  I purchased one, a new purse pattern.  It is adorable — and reversible too!

The displays in Hickey’s were interesting as well.  Even though it’s not pictured here, most of the bolted fabrics are laid on shelves sideways.  When I first took notice of this at the woolen mills I thought it looked messy.  Their selves were not very full.  So far it seems the choice way to display.  Perhaps you can utilize space better that way and still show the customer what the fabric looks like without having to pull it all out.

Our last stop was a place called Fabric Select.  The window sported a treadle Singer sewing machine similar to one I have in my shop.  Inside there was lots of nicely colorized fabric.  Down a sturdy set of stairs was more fabric in a well lit room with a sitting area and mirrors.  I found an interesting purple wool crepe with a satin wave design that I liked.  Mmm, I may regret having not purchased this as purples will be the hot color for fall!  Well, I made sure we picked up her card.

I will keep a look out for more fabrics shops as we explore parts of Ireland!  I read in the Sunday Irish Times that a new shop will be opening in Dublin before we leave that had its roots in Limerick.

Before I move on, do you think that Irish ladies only wear heavy wool sweaters?  Allow me to set the record straight! I have found both fashionable specialty shops and apparel fabric here – and it is not all heavy wool.  We arrived on the Emerald Isle a couple of days ago with the sun, yes the sun, shining and a high in the upper 60’s and 70’s — a heat wave in Dublin.  People were out in droves, all soaking up the sun and wearing their sandles.  I will say I think I can spot the tourists just by the dress. The Irish are no slobs when it comes to dress.

Now, off now to meet our traveling buddies in Howth, pronounced “Hoeth”.  It’s reported to be a pretty little seaside town and the home of Yeats when he was young.

About Justmakeitsew

Located in the heart of downtown in Burlington, NJ, we offer a variety of goods and services related to fashion and sewing, including sewing classes, services, specialty patterns, fabrics, and notions.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Shoes, Shopping, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Leprechaun wears – Prada?

  1. Joen says:

    I can’t wait to see what “goodies” you bring back form your trip!

Leave a comment